About Pughoboto Sub-Division

The people inhabiting the Pughoboto Sub-Division are known as SUMI APHUYEMI. The meaning of Aphuyemi can be literally translated as the first settlers, because the Sumis first settled in this part of the land and from here they migrated to various parts of Zunheboto District, somewhere in the 15th Century. The location of the Pughoboto Town is nestled on the prominent foothills of Mt. Puhukito. If the people may agree, the majestic rising mountain should receive the grand name, “The Jewel of Pughoboto”. In Sumi, “Pughobo” means the name of the tree which in English is known as “Quercus” (Oak Tree Family) and the whole place was covered with dense Pughobo trees. Therefore, this place came to be called as Pughoboto.

Pughoboto Sub-Divisional Headquarter was first established in 1945. Initially, it was established to run a school; to provide education to the neighboring villages and the land was donated by the adjoining Mishilimi Village. In 1949, Pughoboto became an administrative headquarter with setting up of a Bench Court. In 1958, it was upgraded to Area Superintendent which was further upgraded to Circle Office in 1960. It was upgraded to EAC and SDO (C) headquarters in 1973 and  1982 respectively. The long awaited dream was finally realized when it was ultimately upgraded to a full-fledged Sub-Division with the ADC in 1986. Pughoboto is one of the oldest Sub-Divisions in the State with 24 Government recognized village with the status of a separate Election District and a separate Sub-Division Planning Development Board (SDPDB)

The Sub-Division is bounded by the Angamis in the South, Chakesangs in the East, Rengmas and Lothas in the West and Atoizu and Satakha areas in the North. It consists of four Mountain ranges and interspersed by Doyang, Tsuyi and Kucho rivers. The Sub-Division is divided into two Administrative Circles namely Pughoboto and Ghathashi, having four ranges namely:

Puhokito Range

Consist of five recognized villages viz. Lazami, Mishilimi, Laza Phuyeqa, Natsumi and Pughoboto town as ADC Headquarter.

Asukiqa Range

Comprises of Ghokimi, Kitami, Tsaphimi, Asukiqa and Puneboqa.

Ghathashi Range

Covers Ighanumi, Ighavito, Iphonumi, Mukalimi, Shesulimi, Awohumi, Kichilimi, Tukuliqa and Ghathashi as an EAC Headquarter.

Khucho Tsuyi (KT) Range

Nestled between Kucho and Tsuyi rivers and consists of Hebolimi, Kilomi, Chisholimi, Khughutomi and Chishilimi villages.

At present, there are 20 (Twenty) State and Central Department Offices and over 9 (Nine) DDO’s in different departments. There are 6 (Six) G.H.S., 8 (Eight) Private Schools, 10 (Ten) Govt. M.E. Schools, 25 (Twenty Five) G.P.S. and 24 (Twenty Four) VDB’s functioning under Rural Development.